Disney


If you are looking for some great vegan dining reviews of  Gasparilla Grill, Spirit of Aloha Polynesian Luau, Sunshine Seasons Cafe, Chefs De France, Chef Mickey’s, Cosmic Ray’s Starlight Cafe, Back Lot Express, El Pirata y el Perico, 1900 Park Fare, Boma & O’hana, then look  no further than Vegan Satori.

Follow this practicing Buddhist through 9 days of vegan eats at the Walt Disney World Resort in Florida.  Complete with photos, this very well written, detailed blog post by Vegan Satori will leave you hungry and dialing 407-WDISNEY to book your next trip.    Thanks to Vegan Satori for giving me the heads up on this great resource.

Boma – Flavors of Africa in Disney’s Animal Kingdom Lodge Resort is known as the vegan buffet.  Of course, this was highly reviewed when Chef TJ was at Boma, which added a little something.  He has now moved on to ‘Ohana, but the word on the street is that you can have one of the best vegan meals in Disney at Boma.  Once the waitstaff knows you are vegan, you will be shown around by the chef.  He or she will point out out all the vegan items on the buffet.

I still recommend calling ahead of time, even though the chef will show you around once you get there.  Chef TJ used to make special vegan items for his guests at Boma.  If you call ahead and speak with the Food & Beverage Rep, one of the current chefs may so the same for you.  Also, it is important to call ahead to let Disney know how often vegan guests are coming through.  The more calls they get requesting vegan fare, the more choices vegans will have at Disney.

Have you eaten at Boma?  Let us know by leaving a comment with your review, or a link to it!

MAKE YOUR VEGAN DINING RESERVATION AT BOMA

  1. Call  (407) WDW-DINE to make Advanced Dining Reservations (ADR’s) up to 90 days prior to your visit.
  2. Inform the  Cast Member (CM) of your “dairy, egg & shellfish allergies”.  As of Fall 2008, The CM’s were not able to note that you are vegan, only which foods you “have an allergy” to.  *** UPDATED***  as of May 2009, this seems to have changed.  Now it is possible to get both “vegan” and “vegetarian” on your ADR.  You can still add the allergy info is you want to be extra safe, but recent reports are now saying that you can request “vegan” to your ADR.
  3. Request the Boma Food & Beverage phone number.  You need to request this number before the CM is done with the reservation, because after it is complete, they cannot access it in their system.
  4. Call the Food & Beverage representative (usually the chef) to discuss your vegan dining options 24 – 72 hours prior to your ADR.

Boma Reviews:

The Bashful Vegan Blog 2009 Review

Kitty’s AllEars.Net 2008 Review

Cooking for a Vegan Lover’s 2008 Review

Magically Speaking 2008 Review

VegGuide 2008 Review

My Paper Crane Blog 2008 Review

Sandra’s at Home Blog 2008 Review

Kelly S.’s 2006 Review

Slammed Magazine’s 2004 Review

Boma’s Vegan Mushroom Soup (aka Thuthuntshwane Soup) from AllEars.net

It is possible to eat vegan while staying at the Club Level at Disney Resorts.  I  spoke with the Polynesian today and told them we had allergies and would like alternative foods for those allergies at the Club Level during our stay.

The CM said it would be no problem.  I was told to call the front desk of the resort hotel 10 days before arrival and make a note of these allergies with the CM.  Then, confirm at check in.  To get the vegan (allergy-free)  food during the stay, I was told to talk with the kitchen staff/chefs in the Club Level each day.  They will order something in such as vegan desserts, snacks, etc.

I have not found anyone who has done this, but we will be putting it to the test on our next trip (December 2009 or Jan 2010, depending on available discounts).  Have you had allergy-free food in the Club Level before?  Have you called a resort and inquired about this very thing?  If so, what were you told?

In January 2009 I asked the Polynesian Club Level chef for soy milk.  She went in the back and came out with a plain silk soymilk.  The next day I asked for chocolate soy milk (they had chocolate dairy milk, so I tried) but they said no.  I was a little shocked, because they carry it in Captain Cooks right next door.  Maybe if I would have asked at the concierge desk they would have gotten it for me?  Instead we paid like about $2.50 for each one when we went to Captain Cook’s.  If we go back and stay at the Club Level, we will be sure to call in advance for vegan food options.

What is Kaki Gori you ask?  It is finely shaved ice drenched in a sweet fruit syrup, served in a paper cone.  It is the Japanese version of a sno-cone, but so much better!  Find the little food cart in Japan at EPCOT to get yours.  My family of four shared two of them (both strawberry flavored), they are quite big.  We waited for quite a long time to get them, about 15 minutes, but it was absolutely worth it!

There are three flavors of Kaki Gori to choose from:  strawberry(red), honeydew melon (green), or tangerine (orange).  You have the choice of getting all one flavor or getting the rainbow of all three in one cone.

Have you had Kaki Gori?  Leave a comment and let us know your favorite flavor!

Resources:

Kaki Gori Stand Pics

Kitty over at The Bashful Vegan, who also maintains the AllEars.net vegetarian/vegan pages, has been blogging up a storm!  There is lots of good info on being Vegan in Disney.  Her latest posts are about table service restaurants and counter service locations at the World.  Check it out!

Sunshine Seasons Sign

Sunshine Seasons Sign

What more could a vegan ask for?  I stumbled up on this counter service location while waiting for my party to ride Soarin’.  The kitchens were not yet open, but they had the best selection of “Grab and Go” food in the World!  We found a delicious vegan hummus wrap, chocolate soy milk and pretzels.  I then discovered some vegan sushi, and went back for that, too!

Sunshine Seasons was the best selection we had for QS (Counter Service) on our whole trip, and half of the place was not even opened yet!  As with all places in Disney, ask the to speak to the chef if you cannot read a label.  The menu that day showed black bean soup.  We asked to speak with a chef to find out if it was vegan, but we were told to wait until opening to ask.  We didn’t stay long enough to find out.

All Ears.net has a partial menu for Sunshine Seasons.  Have you eaten at Sunshine Seasons?  Leave a comment with your review or a link to your review on your blog/message board!

I recently got a response from emailing Disney about eating Vegan at Disney World.  They sent me the following:

Thank you for contacting the Walt Disney World Resort.

We appreciate your interest in learning what accommodations are available in our theme park and resort restaurants for our vegetarian guests.  Please know that vegetarian plates are available at many counter service locations and at all full-service restaurants, even if they are not actually featured on the menus.  Also, our chefs and restaurant managers are always happy to provide information regarding not only the ingredients of menu selections, but also how items are prepared.  In many instances, food may be specially-prepared to accommodate particular dietary restrictions.  To make reservations for full-service dining (up to 90 days in advance), please call 407-WDW-DINE (407-939-3463).

First, please know that the chefs and managers in our full-service restaurants are always happy to provide information regarding not only the ingredients of menu selections, but also how items are prepared. In many instances, food may be specially prepared to accommodate particular dietary restrictions.

It is also sometimes possible for our restaurants to prepare food items using special ingredients (gluten-free flour, for example). For this reason, we encourage you to make your particular restriction known when booking advanced reservations arrangements for our full-service restaurants, so that the appropriate notation may be made.

We now have special dietary information on the disneyworld.com website at the following links.

http://disneyworld.disney.go.com/wdw/common/helpFAQ?id=HelpFAQDiningPage

http://disneyworld.disney.go.com/wdw/common/guestServicesDetail?id= GuestServicesSpecialDietaryDetailPage

If you have specific inquiries regarding the food served at the park restaurants, guests may contact our special dietary assistants at the following email address:  specialdiets@disneyworld.com

We would also like to mention that as an exception to our standard policy, guests who have specific food allergies are welcome to bring a cooler smaller than 24″ length x 15″ width x 18″ height (which mirrors
the large locker size) into the park with snacks that require no cooking or reheating. Coolers will be inspected for glass and alcoholic beverages which are not permitted. Picnic baskets, ice chests, and
larger coolers are not permitted.

If you have questions or need further assistance, feel free to contact us.

Please include your full name, E-Mail address, and reservation number if applicable on all correspondence.

Hope this helps some of you with your planning!  This info is current as of March 2009.  Please leave a comment about your experience with anything listed above!

Next Page »