Boma – Flavors of Africa in Disney’s Animal Kingdom Lodge Resort is known as the vegan buffet. Of course, this was highly reviewed when Chef TJ was at Boma, which added a little something. He has now moved on to ‘Ohana, but the word on the street is that you can have one of the best vegan meals in Disney at Boma. Once the waitstaff knows you are vegan, you will be shown around by the chef. He or she will point out out all the vegan items on the buffet.
I still recommend calling ahead of time, even though the chef will show you around once you get there. Chef TJ used to make special vegan items for his guests at Boma. If you call ahead and speak with the Food & Beverage Rep, one of the current chefs may so the same for you. Also, it is important to call ahead to let Disney know how often vegan guests are coming through. The more calls they get requesting vegan fare, the more choices vegans will have at Disney.
Have you eaten at Boma? Let us know by leaving a comment with your review, or a link to it!
MAKE YOUR VEGAN DINING RESERVATION AT BOMA
- Call (407) WDW-DINE to make Advanced Dining Reservations (ADR’s) up to 90 days prior to your visit.
- Inform the Cast Member (CM) of your “dairy, egg & shellfish allergies”. As of Fall 2008, The CM’s were not able to note that you are vegan, only which foods you “have an allergy” to. *** UPDATED*** as of May 2009, this seems to have changed. Now it is possible to get both “vegan” and “vegetarian” on your ADR. You can still add the allergy info is you want to be extra safe, but recent reports are now saying that you can request “vegan” to your ADR.
- Request the Boma Food & Beverage phone number. You need to request this number before the CM is done with the reservation, because after it is complete, they cannot access it in their system.
- Call the Food & Beverage representative (usually the chef) to discuss your vegan dining options 24 – 72 hours prior to your ADR.